How to Backup your FaceBook Account

Creating a backup of your FaceBook account is something to consider given the nature of the information we choose to put there.  When we create a backup of our FaceBook account, it will include things such as friends, photos, messages and comments.

Why would you want to create a backup of your FaceBook?

With any thing you do with your computer, it is great to create a backup of the information you have.  Creating a backup of what you have stored on FaceBook is no different.

Many people use FaceBook as a place to store and share their photos and videos with their friends.  This is at times, the only copy.  Having a backup copy of what is on your FaceBook gives you access to these photos and videos on your own computer, not just on FaceBook.

What is included in a FaceBook Backup and is it created?

A backup of your FaceBook account will include the following:

  • FaceBook profile information you have added
  • FaceBook photos you have uploaded and shared
  • FaceBook videos you have uploaded and shared
  • All posts on your Wall
  • All of your messages you have received on FaceBook
  • All friends you have added on FaceBook
  • Any other content you have shared on your FaceBook profile

All the information is included in a single backup file that you can download and open on your computer system.

To create a backup of your FaceBook account, you must use the tool built into the FaceBook service.

  1. Login into your FaceBook account
  2. Click on “Account” in the top right hand corner of the screen
  3. Click on “Account Settings” in the drop down menu that appears

When the Account Settings screen appears, make sure you have the “Settings” tab selected.  Scroll down until you locate the section that reads “Download Your Information” and click on “Learn More”

This will cause the following screen to appear where you will click on “Download” to begin your FaceBook backup.

Once you click on this, you will be presented with a window telling you the FaceBook backup may take some time and you will have to click “Download” again to start the process.

One you have started the FaceBook process, you will receive the message indicating you will receive an email instructing you how to download the backup of your FaceBook account.

Be patient.  Some backups of large FaceBook profiles have taken many hours to complete.  Starting the backup of your FaceBook account does not affect you using FaceBook or your computer.  You can continue using both.  You do not have to leave your computer system turned on either for your backup to complete.

If you try to start another backup of your FaceBook account, you will receive a message telling you the backup of your FaceBook is pending.

Once the backup of your FaceBook account is completed, you will receive an email indicating the backup has completed.

When you click on the link to download the backup of your FaceBook account, you will be asked to provide your password to confirm you are who you say you are.

One you have provided the correct password, you can click “Download” to obtain your backup of your FaceBook account.

Once the backup of your FaceBook account is downloaded to your computer, you can browse the information you have put on the service.  Many people are surprised at the amount of things they have included on their FaceBook account once they start looking through the backup.